Peter called winners

In the Northern capital hosted a ceremony of awarding the winners of the annual award “yachtsman of the year of St. Petersburg”.

Organizers: St. Petersburg sailing Union (sailing Federation Saint-Petersburg) and the Yacht club of Saint-Petersburg.

The winners were determined in 12 categories.

Sailor of the year was Boris Gradev, which was implemented this year as captain of two polar expeditions to the archipelago “New Earth” and “Franz Josef Land”. During these expeditions opened a new island and the Strait, was found sunken in 1881, the English yacht “Eira”.

The yachtswoman of the year were recognized Elena Kalinina, one of the leaders the world of kiteboarding. In 2018, Elena was on the podium of major international competitions, won a silver medal at the world and European Championships, and gold at one stage of the world Cup.

In the nomination “the Best distant sports campaign” the victory is shared between Daniel Gavrilov, under whose command in this year the yacht Rusarc Aurora traveled more than 25,000 miles (from St. Petersburg to West Greenland and Vice versa), and the yacht “Anna”, who won this year 2nd place in its class in the prestigious transatlantic race, Atlantic Rally of Cruisers.

The team of the year were announced Jan Cech and Ivan Zotov. In 2018, they once again confirmed their level and became Champions of Russia in the class “49er” and once in the gold fleet at the world Championships, which is the highest for the Russians in this class in recent years.

In the nomination “For contribution to the development of sailing in Saint-Petersburg” also two winners. First – Andrew Groshikov, the founder of the “support Fund, reconstruction and restoration of historical vessels and classic yachts”, who in 2013 led the project of reconstruction of the first linear ship of the Baltic fleet “Poltava”. Second winner – State University of sea and river fleet named after Admiral S. O. Makarov, one of the most important Maritime Universities of the country. The beginning of the section sailing in the GUMRF them. Admiral S. O. Makarov mentioned in documents in 1930. Here today involved more than 100 students.

Coach of the year was Diana Krutskikh, honored master of sports, participant of the Olympic games, the winner and prizewinner of Championships and world Cups and Europe, coach existing team members city and country. For the announcement of the winners on stage were invited Ksenia Brizicky, Director of the salon “Gallery image”. As Diana Yurievna is now at the regatta, her award on her behalf was received by the Director of the sailing school “Krestovsky island” Natalia Fedorova.

In the nomination “team of the year to 23 years” win for Zoya Novikova and Diana Sabirova, Champions of Russia in the Olympic class 49FX.

Yachtsman of the year (under 23 years) was Krutskikh Daniil, the youngest master of sport of international class in sailing of Russia, the bronze prize-winner of superiority of Europe of this year in overall ranking and winner in the age group up to 19 years in the Laser class.

The title of Yachtsmen of the year (under 23 years) received Alexander Lukoyanov, which this year became the winner of competitions in four sailing classes (Optimist, Laser 4.7″, “Europe”, 29er).

In the nomination “journalist of the year” was presented to Alexander Ivanov. While the “Photographer of the year” was Elena Razina.

Organizers also said the 55-year anniversary of the national class cruising and racing yachts “L-6”, with an emphasis on the yachts of this class have become a real school of courage and skill, trained many well-known yachtsmen.

The press service of the St. Petersburg sailing Union

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *