Named the best sailing video 2018

Announced the finalists of the international competition Mirabaud Sailing Video Award. This year the participants of the competition were the rollers 28, scored together more than 350 thousand hits on the awards website and on Youtube.

First among professional film makers took a British Director , Rob Dickinson (Rob Dickinson) from the company Orillo Films. It minute video “Memorable journey” (A Journey to remember) dedicated to the regatta Volvo Ocean Race 2017/18 and a team of AkzoNobel. Dynamic video reveals the whole gamut of emotions that the athletes experienced during competitions at sea and on land. Of trouble the team was missing: first, their skipper Simeon Tienpont (Simeon Tienpont) removed (and later restored) before the first stage of the race, then them twice in three days we had to fix likes right in the middle of the southern ocean.

“Excellent and very professional <…> But the audience should already be familiar with the subject to fully appreciate this work,” — said the jury member Georgie Corlette-pitt (Georgie Corlett-Pitt), chief editor of the magazine Yachts & Yachting.

In addition to the Corlette-pitt to the jury also included two-time Olympic champion and host of CNN’s Shirley Robertson (Shirley Robertson), communications specialist World Sailing Daniel Smith (Daniel Smith), special partner and member of the Executive Committee of the Bank Mirabaud & Cie SA Mirabeau Nicolas (Nicolas Mirabaud), mediaspecialized and communications Director of 11th Hour Racing Alexander Getstsi (Alessandra Ghezzi) and Di Caffari (Dee Caffari) — the skipper of the team Turn the Tide on Plastic, which participated in the Volvo Ocean Race.

But the second place among the professionals, the jury awarded the movie with a completely different mood. Team Beau Outteridge asked participants to share how their boats “sing”, picking up speed. The selection is quite comical whistles, squeals and howls and formed the basis of the live “sound of the wheel?” (What Noise Do The Make Rudders?).

Third place in the competition, it was decided to give the movie Hugo Fonolla (Ugo Fonollá) on team MAPFRE, also participated in the Volvo Ocean Race. The video talks about the leg of the race around Cape horn.

The author of the best roller among the sailors, Frenchman Stan thuret (Thuret Stan). His two-minute video “the Greatest race in the world” (The greatest race in the world) dedicated to a single 18-day journey across the Atlantic on a 6.5-metre boat while racing the Mini Transat.

The prize of spectator sympathies by results of voting on the prize website got Pelisse Erwan (Erwan Pelisset) from the team EP Medias. The movie “One race — One reason — One ocean” (One race — One cause — One Ocean) is dedicated to Jacques Valens (Jacques Valente), which is 10 years after the transplantation of organs became a member of the 40th regatta Route du Rhum.

The authors of the best rollers on the sailing will receive a well-deserved award second annual award Mirabaud Sailing Video of the Award — 2018 Tuesday, October 23. The award ceremony will be held in the framework of the forum of sailing Yacht Racing Forum in the French port city of Lorient in the North-West of the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *