Few facts about Point Nemo (Volvo Ocean Race)

25 Mar 2015 fleet round-the-world Volvo Ocean Race, heading to Brazil, crossed the Point Nemo (Point Nemo) is a unique, mystical, the most remote from the sushi place in the oceans.

Point Nemo (Point Nemo), or the pole of inaccessibility. Only here you really can feel alone and cut off from human civilization. On the planet Earth will not find another such place, where all four cardinal directions to the nearest land will be the same and so far. Exactly 2 688 kilometers or 1 450 nautical miles is the distance from the Point Nemo to the shore in any direction. And the best part of this faraway land is uninhabited.

Mystical coincidence: the point is named after the hero of Jules Verne’s novel, at the same time with the Latin “nemo” can be translated “no man” is a fitting name for such a place, isn’t it?

Scientific fact, from which, however, also emanates mysticism: if you stay at Point Nemo in the correct time of day and to raise his eyes to the sky, can clearly see the International space station. The distance from the Point Nemo to the orbit of the ISS is about 400 km closer than any other place on the planet.

Point Nemo was opened in 1992 by Croatian-canadian engineer named Hrvoje Lukatela using Hyper-spatial computer programs. The exact location of the Point Nemo: 48°52.6’S 123°23.6’W. On Google map: link.

About the circumnavigation Volvo Ocean Race

Volvo Ocean Race – team round-the-world regatta for sailing yachts of the Volvo Ocean 65 (Volvo 70 in the past). It is called the toughest sailing regatta in the world. The real test of strength with a length of more than 30,000 nautical miles and lasting nine months.

Volvo Ocean 65 – single-masted monohull yachts designed by Farr Yacht Design company, with a maximum hull length of 20,37 meters, a waterline length of 20.00 meters, maximum width of 5.60 meters, a maximum draft of 4.78 meters and deflection of keel of not more than 45 degrees from the vertical axis. The height of the mast at 30.30 metres. Dry weight is 12.5 tonnes. The crew consists of 10 employees plus third-party correspondent on Board who are not eligible to participate in the management of a yacht.

Since 1973 the race is the Volvo Ocean Race has been held every 4 years, however, due to the increased popularity in 2006, its frequency is 3 years.

The winner of the regatta is the team with the highest number of points at all stages of the ocean and port. Points system as follows. According to the results of the ocean stage, the team gets points equal to the total number of starters at this stage of the teams minus the number of teams who finished early of this team. Participation in port races and the passage of the intermediate control points are evaluated according to the same scheme, but with two times fewer possible to the set point.

Start Volvo Ocean Race 2014 – 2015 was held on 4 October in the Spanish city of Alicante. The race was attended by seven teams:

1. Team SCA (Sweden), skipper Sam Davies (UK) – only in 2014, an all-female crew
2. Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing (UAE), skipper Ian Walker (UK)
3. Dongfeng Race Team (China), skipper Charles Caudrelier (France)
4. Team Brunel (Netherlands), skipper Bouwe Bekking (Netherlands)
5. Team Alvimedica (USA – Turkey), skipper Charlie Enright (USA)
6. MAPFRE (Spain), skipper Iker Martínez (Spain)
7. Team Vestas Wind (Denmark), skipper Chris Nicholson (Australia)

The race route is divided into 9 ocean stages:

1. Alicante (Spain) – Cape town (South Africa), 6 487 nm, 11 October – 06 November, 2014
2. Cape town (South Africa) – Abu Dhabi (UAE), 6 125 nm, November 19 – December 15, 2014
3. Abu Dhabi (UAE) Sanya (China), 4 670 nm, 3 – January 28, 2015
4. Sanya (China) Auckland (New Zealand), 5 264 nm, 08 February – 03 March, 2015
5. Auckland (New Zealand) – itajaí (Brazil), 6 776 nm, March 15 – April 5, 2015
6. Itajaí (Brazil) – Newport (USA), 5 010 nm, April 19 – may 9, 2015
7. Newport (United States) – Lisbon (Portugal), 2 800 nm, may 17 – may 27, 2015
8. Lisbon (Portugal) – Lorient (France), 647 nm, June 7 – June 12, 2015
9. Lorient (France) – Gothenburg (Sweden), 960 nm, June 16 – June 24, 2015
with a stop in the Hague (Netherlands) from 19 to 22 June, 2015

Each of the ports held a one-day local race.

The broadcast cycle video diaries Volvo Ocean Race 2014 – 2015 in Russia is the TV channel OCEAN-TV. Access to video is available on the website www.ocean-tv.su.

The official website of the Volvo Ocean Race: www.volvooceanrace.com

    Constantine Kuhlow
    Author ruYachts

    Editor, co-founder of the portal ruYachts.com.

    All articles/Write the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *