Cup of the Princess Sophia: the sixth day

That ended the jubilee, the 50th regatta Trofeo Princesa Sofia IBEROSTAR 2019, held in Majorca. Before you – the final report of the special correspondent of Yacht Russia Anton Shibaeva:

© Jesus Renedo and Anton Shibaev

This morning, the wind in the Bay of Palma reached 25 knots and the masts of the club raised the “carrots” . After two hours of waiting it was decided in classes 49er and 49erFX races not held due to the strong rolling waves on the shore.

However, for boards this obstacle was not, and the distance released the men in the class RS:X. Short start line, a quick course – and soon a well-known result: Vladislav Burmistenko and Alexander Askerov finished 8th and 9th. In the final minutes of 5 th and 6 th places respectively. Which, of course, success.

At this point, its the starting line caught up “semidesyati”. High waves hampered the monitoring of the progress of the race, but blue Spinnaker was clear that the team of Paul Sozykin and Denis Gribanov leaders. After the race was over, we came closer, I learned that the guys finished third.

“Had a great race today, almost all managed to achieve already at the Bank told Denis Gribanov. – From the start chose the left side – and I was right! On the upper Marche was the second and held this position almost to the finish line. Only at the very end of the impulse lost”.

Thanks to the excellent result in the medal race, Paul and Denis managed to improve its position in the final Protocol they are on 7th place. A good result and our congratulations!

The Cup regatta Princess Sofia for the Russian yachtsmen finished. But racing season in Majorca continues. After a few days starts the European championship in class RS:x good luck to our boys and we support them!

That’s who became the winners of the 50th regatta Trofeo Princesa Sofia IBEROSTAR 2019:

470 (men). 1. Anton Dahlberg/ Fredrik Bergstrom (Sweden).

470 (women). 1. Hannah Mills/ Aled McIntyre (UK).

49er. 1. Dylan Fletcher/ Stewart Bitell (UK).

49erFX. 1. Martin, Soffietti Graal/ Kahena Kunze (Brazil).

Finn. 1. Andrew Maloney (New Zealand).

Laser. 1. Christopher Barnard (USA).

Laser Radial. 1. Anne-Marie Rind (Denmark).

Nacra 17. 1. Jason Waterhouse/ Lisa Darmanin (Australia).

RS:X (men). 1. Michael Cheng (Hong Kong).

RS:X (women). 1. Yue Tan (China).

Full results –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *